Primary-refining capacity by plant and how much is offline after strikes and repairs. A manually maintained OSINT registry.
as of 2026-09-18 · Feeds the indicator refinery_offline
Capacity-weighted by outage depth per status (offline ~¾ out, partial ~⅖); no measured plant-level load. Estimates vary: Ukraine's General Staff ~42–43%, IEA >20% — we show a capacity-weighted figure.
Source: IEA commentary, 2026-09-17 · CC BY 4.0
Sanctions on imported equipment stretch repairs further; damage keeps accumulating faster than repairs.
Two independent estimates — shown side by side, not averaged: 55.2% — OSINT registry, capacity-weighted; 42% below capacity — IEA, refinery runs vs installed capacity.
| Refinery | Operator | Region | Capacity (Mt/yr) | Status | Damaged | Repair outlook | Event date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ufa refineries (Bashneft group: UNPZ / Novoil / Ufaneftekhim) | Bashneft (Rosneft) | Republic of Bashkortostan | 24.0 | partial | Struck multiple times in 2026 (~1400 km); Bashneft-Novoil named in the August summary. Unit detail not disclosed. | 2026-08-01 | |
| Omsk Refinery | Gazprom Neft | Omsk Oblast | 22.0 | offline | Primary distillation unit hit on 6 July 2026 (first strike of the war, ~2500 km); multiple fire hotspots. | Reported halt the next day; Russia's largest refinery. | 2026-07-06 |
| Kirishinefteorgsintez (KINEF) | Surgutneftegas | Leningrad Oblast | 20.1 | offline | Primary units ELOU-AT-1 (1.7 Mt/y) and ELOU-AT-6 (7.6 Mt/y) hit; diesel hydrotreater and catalytic reformer also damaged; ELOU-AVT-2 still under repair from an earlier strike. | ~60% of capacity (>12 Mt/y) knocked out; extended downtime, import-sanctioned equipment slows repair. | 2026-08-30 |
| Ryazan Refinery (RNPK) | Rosneft | Ryazan Oblast | 17.1 | offline | Repeatedly struck (reported ~15 times through 2026). Latest: CDU-6 (~50% of capacity) on fire and CDU-4 (4 Mt/y) damaged; CDU-3 was already down for maintenance. | Recurring 2-3 week outages after each hit; main fuel artery for Moscow. | 2026-09-02 |
| LUKOIL-Nizhegorodnefteorgsintez (NORSI) | LUKOIL | Nizhny Novgorod Oblast | 17.0 | offline | Primary distillation units and infrastructure repeatedly hit; fires. Fifth shutdown in under five months. | After the 26 Aug hit LUKOIL pulled NORSI products from SPIMEX trading; Russia's 4th-largest refinery, 2nd for gasoline. | 2026-08-26 |
| TANECO | Tatneft | Republic of Tatarstan | 17.0 | offline | Struck by long-range drones; specific units not detailed publicly. June 2026 hit removed ~600k bbl/d of capacity. | Repeated strikes; casualty reports unverified. | 2026-08-20 |
| Volgograd Refinery | LUKOIL | Volgograd Oblast | 15.7 | offline | Primary distillation unit No.1 (~40% of capacity) plus units No.5 and No.6 damaged; 10th+ strike of the war. | Offline since 31 July 2026. | 2026-05-29 |
| Slavneft-YANOS (Yaroslavl) | Slavneft (Gazprom Neft / Rosneft) | Yaroslavl Oblast | 15.0 | offline | Damaged in multiple 2025-2026 strikes; specific units not disclosed. Supplies Moscow by pipeline. | 2026-08-01 | |
| LUKOIL-Permnefteorgsintez | LUKOIL | Perm Krai | 13.1 | offline | CDU-5 (4.53 Mt/y, distillation columns + desalting damaged), CDU-4 (4.94 Mt/y), CDU-1 (1.83 Mt/y, fire). | ~86% of primary capacity (11.3 of 13 Mt/y) knocked out per satellite imagery; long-term shutdown. | 2026-08-24 |
| Moscow Refinery (Kapotnya) | Gazprom Neft | Moscow | 12.5 | offline | Both integrated processing trains plus tank farm hit on 12 and 18 June 2026. | Full stop; repair estimated at 6+ months, restart unlikely before 2027. | 2026-06-18 |
| Tuapse Refinery | Rosneft | Krasnodar Krai | 12.0 | partial | Storage tanks (fires) and the oil terminal hit repeatedly (~10 strikes in 2026). | Recurring fire-shutdown-restore cycles. | 2026-08-01 |
| Astrakhan Gas Processing Plant | Gazprom | Astrakhan Oblast | 12.0 | partial | Fire on site after strikes; units not detailed. | 2026-08-25 | |
| Surgut Condensate Stabilization Plant | Gazprom Pererabotka | Khanty-Mansi AO | 12.0 | working | |||
| Angarsk Petrochemical Company | Rosneft | Irkutsk Oblast | 10.2 | working | Only major refinery with no documented damage; protected by distance (~4450 km). | ||
| Gazprom Neftekhim Salavat | Gazprom | Republic of Bashkortostan | 10.0 | partial | ELOU-AVT-4 hit first, then ELOU-AVT-6 (the plant's largest primary unit) on 24 Sep 2025. | Loss of AVT-6 could paralyse operations (~1400 km from border). | 2025-09-24 |
| Afipsky Refinery | Neftegazovye Tekhnologii | Krasnodar Krai | 9.1 | partial | Fire on site (5th strike, 25 Aug 2026); unit detail not disclosed. | 2026-08-25 | |
| Novokuibyshevsk Refinery | Rosneft | Samara Oblast | 8.8 | offline | Named in Ukrainian General Staff strike summaries; unit-level detail not disclosed. | 2026-08-01 | |
| Syzran Refinery | Rosneft | Samara Oblast | 8.5 | offline | Targeted in 2024 and named in 2026 summaries; unit-level detail not disclosed. | 2026-08-01 | |
| Komsomolsk Refinery | Rosneft | Khabarovsk Krai | 8.0 | partial | Fire on 11 Aug 2026 (~6500 km); cause not officially established, drone strike ruled out by analysts. | Supplies >60% of Far East fuel. | 2026-08-11 |
| Antipinsky Refinery (Tyumen) | Novy Potok group | Tyumen Oblast | 7.7 | offline | Diesel hydrotreater (2.6 Mt/y, fire) and high-octane gasoline block hit. | Full processing halt after the 25 July strike. | 2026-07-25 |
| Novoshakhtinsk Products Plant (NZNP) | NZNP | Rostov Oblast | 7.5 | partial | Reported shut again after an overnight attack; recurring hits in 2026. | 2026-08-25 | |
| Achinsk Refinery | Rosneft | Krasnoyarsk Krai | 7.5 | working | Listed as a campaign target; no confirmed 2025-2026 strike in sources. | ||
| Kuibyshev Refinery (Samara) | Rosneft | Samara Oblast | 7.0 | offline | Shut down after a strike on 11 June 2026; also targeted in 2024. | 2026-06-11 | |
| Saratov Refinery | Rosneft | Saratov Oblast | 7.0 | offline | Shut down shortly after a strike on 7 July 2026; struck again per later reports. | 2026-07-07 | |
| Orsknefteorgsintez (Orsk) | Orsknefteorgsintez | Orenburg Oblast | 6.6 | offline | Hydrocracking complex (1.6 Mt/y) hit; large fire. | Struck Oct/Nov 2025, Apr 2026, latest 11 Aug 2026. | 2026-08-11 |
| Ilsky Refinery | Kuban Oil & Gas Co. | Krasnodar Krai | 6.6 | partial | In the August 2026 General Staff summary (~400 km); struck earlier in 2024. | 2026-08-01 | |
| Slavyansk ECO Refinery | Slavyansk ECO | Krasnodar Krai | 5.2 | offline | Listed among struck facilities; confirmed hits in 2024, no separate 2026 unit detail. | ||
| Khabarovsk Refinery | NNK (Alliance) | Khabarovsk Krai | 5.0 | working | |||
| Ukhta Refinery (LUKOIL) | LUKOIL | Republic of Komi | 4.0 | working | Only LUKOIL refinery still running as of late Aug 2026 (NORSI, Perm, Volgograd all offline). | ||
| Yaya Refinery (NefteHimServis) | NefteHimServis | Kemerovo Oblast | 3.3 | working | |||
| Krasnodar Refinery (Krasnodareconeft) | Krasnodareconeft | Krasnodar Krai | 3.0 | working | Listed as a target; no confirmed 2026 unit-level detail. | ||
| NS-Oil (Novospasskoye) | NS-Oil | Ulyanovsk Oblast | 2.8 | partial | |||
| Mari Refinery | Novy Potok group | Republic of Mari El | 1.4 | working |
Compiled from open OSINT sources · Manually maintained from open OSINT sources; values are estimates and need regular updating.